Robbie Basho
Visions of the Country
out August 20th, 2013 on Gnome Life Records
LP + digital download
Out now!

I feel ‘wrong’ blogging about this Robby Basho album. It’s like eating caviar off a paper plate, meaning that really one should shout about this album from a rooftop while flying kites, or create an event celebrating it or listening to it in silence with a worthy group of friends. The throw-away moment we call reading about music on a blog seems utterly inappropriate here. However……

Let’s hear sound:

And that’s just for starters. The rest of this album has the debth of, say, ‘This Mortal Coil’ make a country/folk album but even that does not begin to describe the mountains of emotion shining here.

Here’s another taste.

I leave the rest to you. Words will only disturb the symbiosis of souls that takes place when listening to this masterpiece.

Respectfully crafted by the label and with warm analogue mastering bringing out the sound to maximum beauty, this re-issue deserves recognition.

1. Green River Suite
2. Rodeo
3. Rocky Mountain Raga
4. Variations on Easter
5. Blue Crystal Fire
6. Orphan’s Lament
7. Leaf In The Wind
8. Night Way
9. Elk Dreamer’s Lament
10. Call On The Wind

Order the album:

Screaming Rachael – Queen of Soul
Label: Trax Records
Cat: TX062003
Release: 20.08.2013
Format: digital

This retrospective album compiles 32 tracks, spanning the beginning days to hip-house anthems to hits such as ‘You used to hold me’. The versatility and no-bounds attitude of early house is apparent at all times. For me it gets really interesting on tunes like ‘I’m into you’, ‘Build you a house’ and ‘Fantasy’ where it gets soulful and song-based. But basically it’s all there and just shows again the influence of early house and dance music on everything that attempts to be done today. There are new-wave’ish and Blondie’esque moments on tracks like ‘Insult to Injury’ as well as tunes displaying her very own kind of poetry, especially on my own personal favourite moment, the poetry reading ‘Princess in Penthouse A’.

Every single of the dance track will cut it on the floor today without re-edit, which is often rare with classic dance and house-tunes, as they often weren’t snare heavy enough to fit into today’s sets. I’m glad to have all these tracks on one compilation. Well done Traxx.


CHICAGO 1987 – 88


Release Date: 09.17.2013
Art ist : Vari ous
Tit le” Jerome Derradji Presents Bang The Box!
The (Lost Story) of Aka Dance Music. Chicago 1987-88
Label : Sti ll Music
Cat No: St il lmdcd010

The real the true Chicago Vibe here. Tracks that have set the template for things to come. Dump your laptop, buy a 2 track tape machine. You’ll be happier.

Tracklisting (Double CD)
1 – Nexus 6 – Take Me Higher (The Ultimate Acid Mix)
2 – Matt Warren – Bang The Box (Bang The House Mix)
3 – Michael Griffin Feat. George Karchmer & Khrissie Henderson – Close Your Eyes (Club Mix)
4 – Team – The Music’s Got Me (Club Mix)
5 – BnC – House Ain’t Giving Up (Jackin Mix)
6 – Modern Mechanical Music feat. Matt, Nick, Michaelangelo – Pleasure Dome (House Mix)
7 – Matt Warren & Michaelangelo – Exotic (Vocal)
8 – Nexus 6 – Take Me Higher (Club Mix)
9 – Modern Mechanical Music feat. Matt, Nick, Michaelangelo – Pleasure Dome (Inst.)
10 – Matt Warren – Take It To The Wall (Matt’s Mix)
11 – Team – The Music’s Got Me (Dub Mix)
12 – Matt Warren – Bang The Box (Original Re-Mix) 1994
Cd 2:
1 -Matt Warren & Michaelangelo – Rock It
2 -Michaelangelo – Lost In The World
3 – Matt Warren & Michaelangelo – Exotic (Dub Version)
4 – Michaelangelo – Alternative House
5 – Michaelangelo – Jackin
6 – Michael Griffin Feat. George Karchmer & Khrissie Henderson – Close Your Eyes
(Matt-N-Steve House Mix)
7 – Michaelangelo – Disco House
8 – Matt Warren & Michaelangelo – Don’t Bring Back Memories
9 – Matt Warren & Michelangelo – Let It Flow (Short Version)
10 – Michaelangelo – Pick It Up
11 – Michaelangelo Feat. Pepper Gomez – Shake It
12 – Matt Warren & Michaelangelo- Remember The Last
13 – Matt Warren & Michaelangelo – Exotic (House It Up Dub)
14 – Matt Warren & Michaelangelo – Dusty House

And if that’s not reason enough to keep jacking, there’s MORE:
Release Date: 08/20/2013
Artist : Various
Title” Jerome Derradji Presents Kill Yourself Dancing
The Story of Sunset Records Inc. Chicago 1985-88
Label: Still Music

Soon to become familiar names make their first appearances here. Matt Warren, Miguel Garcia and Ralphi Rosario created an outlet for their sound here. The influence of the tracks compiled here is massive, although everyone was going nuts about traxx and DJ International at the time, the tunes compiled here are up there with the best of them. Cowbells anyone?

Tracklisting (Double CD)
1 Razz Feat. Matt Warren & Ralphi Rosario – Kill Yourself
2 Modern Mechanical Music – Persia
3 Master Plan – Electric Baile (Commercial Mix)
4 White Knight – It Could Be Acid
5 Ben Mays – Jail Bait
6 Hex Complexx – I Want You – Suite – The Dash Riprock
7 Michaelangelo – You Can Do It
8 White Knight – White Knight Jacks Club Mix
9 Razz Feat. Matt Warren & Ralphi Rosario – Razz-Matazz
10 Boom Boom & Master Plan – Face The Music Club Mix
11 – Razz Feat. Matt Warren & Ralphi Rosario – Pump It Up
1 Matt Warren – The Way To My Heart Club Mix
2 Kajsa – Try Try Again House Mix
3 White Knight – Demons A Mix 4U
4 Modern Mechanical Music – Doo Doo Da
5 Razz Feat. Matt Warren & Ralphi Rosario – Say It
6 Boom Boom & Master Plan – Face the Music Dub Mix
7 White Knight – Yo Baby Yo Mix 1
8 Master Plan – Electric Baile (Large Dub)
9 White Knight – Acid Dub
10 Matt Warren – Rock

Tracklisting (Double LP)
A1 Razz – Kill Yourself Dancing
A2 Ben Mays – Lover Man
B1 White Knight – It Could Be Acid
B2 Boom Boom & Master Plan – Face the Music Dub Mix
Lp 2 –
C1 Modern Mechanical Music- Persia
C2 Master Plan – Electric Baile (Commercial Mix)
D1 Hex Complexx – I Want You The Transcontinental Mix
D2 Matt Warren – Rock The Nation Remixed By Kenny Jason




  1. jack on August 25th, 2013 03:10

    I had been very pleased to discover this web-site.I want to to great time for this excellent read!! My partner and i definitely savoring every bit of it and that i have you bookmarked to check out blogs you blog post.

  2. Johnson on October 4th, 2015 04:20

    Pretty! This was an extremely wonderful post. Thank you for providing this info.

Bad Behavior has blocked 354 access attempts in the last 7 days.